Breathe in, and now SCREAM

One of my favorite sayings I heard in a computer game many years ago is, “don’t let the turkeys get you down”, now I have no idea what that means but it always cheers me up just a bit when I’m feeling a little off. Being an upbeat and positive person is difficult to do each and every day and its completely natural to feel down sometimes. But here’s the catch, while it is completely natural to feel down sometimes, being upset really sucks. If you’re anything like me, I get upset, then I am upset that I am feeling upset then the cycle just starts over. I get in these weird moods where I am stuck in a funk and try everything in my power to get out of it. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t but I keep trying!

I have struggled with anxiety ever since I can remember, so situations that could seem normal to the average joe end up appearing detrimental in my mind. It’s not a fun experience and its definitely difficult trying to convince people that mental disorders are just as difficult to live with as physical ones. So like I said, I try everything in my power to get out of the little ruts I get stuck in and I thought I would share some of my insights with you.

  1. Stay in bed

I mean it, if you don’t have anything to do that day, curl up with a good book or watch a heart warming movie complete with buttery popcorn and a cold glass of whatever your heart desires. Your mind needs rest just as much as your body does.

2. Get out of bed

I know I am sitting here contradicting myself. I don’t mean go on a run or go to the gym, but hey if thats what you like GO FOR IT. I myself think running is something only crazy people do, so I prefer yoga or barre. I can’t afford the sky high Seattle gym prices but you would be surprised how many short workout videos you can find on the internet.

3. Make and Complete a list

On my days off I compile a list of stuff I have procrastinated for the past lets say….ever and I intend to get as much of the stuff on the list done as possible. Each check off my list is a little victory that boosts my mood just a bit each time.

4. EAT

Please for the love of god eat whenever you’re feeling sad. You wouldn’t believe what nutrients and vitamins can do to a persons mind and body. I personally take multiple vitamins every day to try and boost not only my immune system but my daily functioning as well.

(The best for last)

5. Find an animal

Like I said how food helps your body? animals can do so much more. I will never take my snuggles with my pup for granted, plus animals give you unconditional love which can always help out a sour mood.

Cheers,

Lana

Leave a Reply

